Week 14 – Art Activity – Sketching in the Japanese Garden

I enjoyed sketching in the Japanese Garden this week. It felt very refreshing going to somewhere new with lots of plants, trees, water, and fishes there. It was a good place to be sketching because there are so many things you can choose from. It was also peaceful where you could relax your mind and take everything off your mind and just draw. Here are some of my sketches up above. My favorite scene and is right when you walk in, see a pathway down to the water where visitors are able to feed the fishes. Everyone seemed very peaceful yet concentrated on their sketches.

My experience drawing everything was felt very long since there were so many sketches to make. However, when I was timing myself and drawing, the five minutes were done quick. It did not feel like five minutes at all. I did enjoy letting myself go with the sketches. I really liked how the purpose was to just try to draw, rather than actually drawing perfectly. I thought the rule of you can’t erase helped me draw better because I was concentrating more on what to draw and just putting it on paper. A really good warm up and practice for artists!

Leave a Reply

